Members appointed to University Advisory Group

The University Advisory Group members have now been appointed and will begin their work programme, led by Chair, Professor Sir Peter Gluckman. This group will provide the government with advice on New Zealand’s university system.

The members, from a variety of backgrounds, are highly respected within their fields:

  • Professor Sir Peter Gluckman is Chair of the Advisory Group and Chair of the Science System Advisory group, former Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor, paediatrician, and Koi Tū director.
  • Dr Alastair McCormick is Deputy Chair and a professional director and Emeritus Professor of the University of Auckland and is currently a Commissioner on the Tertiary Education Commission board.
  • John Allen is Chief Executive of WellingtonNZ, the Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency and Chancellor at Victoria University Wellington – TeHerenga Waka.
  • Arihia Bennett (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Porou, Ngāpuhi) is the former Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Chief Executive and current Chair of Kāpuia – the Ministerial Advisory Group on the Christchurch mosques terrorist attack.
  • Phil O’Reilly is Managing Director of Iron Duke Partners and previously the Chair of the Board of Business at OECD, a member of the ILO Governing Body, APEC, and Business NZ Chief Executive.
  • Dame Paula Rebstock is a consultant and company director/board member of Asia Pacific Healthcare Group, Vector Limited, NAZ Ltd, AIA New Zealand and Vector Metering, previously Chair of the Commerce Commission and Accident Compensation Commission and several government reviews and panels.
  • Sir David Skegg is an epidemiologist and public health physician, currently Emeritus Professor of the University of Otago and formerly its Vice-Chancellor, as well as President of the Royal Society of New Zealand, Chair of the Health Research Council, and special adviser to Parliament’s COVID-19 Epidemic Response Committee.
  • Bella Takiari-Brame (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato-Tainui) is a professional director, currently Chair of The Lines Company Ltd, director of Te Ohu Kaimoana, member of the ACC Board and Crown Infrastructure Partners Ltd Board .

This group will meet regularly to develop their advice and recommendations.

Read the full bios